University home | Faculty of Biology, Medicine and Health |

The Shiels Laboratory

Lab Members

Dr Holly Shiels

Holly Shiels

Position: Senior Lecturer

More about Holly Shiels

T: +44 (0)161 275 5092

E: Holly.Shiels@manchester.ac.uk

Muhammad Syafiq Musa

Muhammad Syafiq Musa

Position: PhD student

More about Syafiq Musa

E: muhammad.musa@postgrad.manchester.ac.uk

Alex Holsgrove

Alex Holsgrove

Position: PhD

More about Alex Holsgrove

Karlina Ozolina

Karlina Ozolina

Position: PhD Adaptive Organismal Biology

More about Karlina Ozolina

E: karlina.ozolina@postgrad.manchester.ac.uk

Miriam Fenkes

Miriam Fenkes

Position: PhD

More about Miriam Fenkes

E: miriam.fenkes@manchester.ac.uk

Thomas Sheard

Ilan Ruhr

Position: Post-doctoral Research Associate (Gina Galli’s lab)

More about Ilan Ruhr

E: ilan.ruhr@manchester.ac.uk

Miriam Fenkes

Ainerua Martins Oshioriamhe

Position: PhD

More about Ainerua Martins Oshioriamhe

E: martins.ainerua@postgrad.manchester.ac.uk

Thomas Sheard

Samantha Alison Hook

Position: PhD

More about Samantha Alison Hook

E: samantha.hook@postgrad.manchester.ac.uk

Undergraduate Students and Visiting Scientists

 

Bianka Grunow

Bianka Grunow

Position: Visiting Scientist

More about Bianka Grunow

E: bianka.grunow@manchester.ac.uk

Maëva Gacoin

Maëva Gacoin

Position: Summer Intern

More about Maëva Gacoin

William Joyce

William Joyce

More about William Joyce

E: william.joyce@bios.au.dk

Oliver H. Wearing

Oliver H. Wearing

More about Oliver H. Wearing

James Marchant

James Marchant

Position: Visiting Scientist

More about James Marchant

E: marchant.james.fr@gmail.com

 

Past laboratory members

Thomas Sheard

Adam Keen

  • Position: Post-doctoral Research Associate
  • Current location: University of Oxford
  • adam@well.ox.ac.uk

Matt Hardy

  • Position: Research Associate
  • Current location: University of Leeds

Ben Saer

  • Position: Research Technician
  • Current location: Andrew Loundon's Lab, The University of Manchester

Alexander Thomas

  • Position: PhD
  • Current location: PhD at Memorial University Newfoundland, Canada

Dr Dan Warren

  • Position: Research Associate
  • From: 2008- 2010
  • Current position: Associate Prof St Louis University, Mo, USA
  • Website
  • dwarren4@slu.edu

Dr Rikke Birkedal

  • Position: Research associate
  • From: 1st January 2006 to: 27 March 2008
  • Current location

Dr Gina Galli

  • Position: PhD Student, Post-doctoral Research Associate
  • From: 1st January to: 31 January 2007
  • Current Position: Lecturer, The University of Manchester
  • Current location
Building homeostatic controls
Eating out
Holly's Birthday
Holly's birthday
Lab outing to Jump Nation
Lab outing to Jump Nation
Lab outing to Jump Nation
Lab outing
Lab outing
Lab outing
Lab outing
Lab outing
Holding a photo of a turtle
Dr Gina Galli
Dr Gina Galli
Lab bike ride
Students in Edinburgh
Dr Dan Warren
Dr Gina Galli
Barbecue
In the beer garden
with a duckling
Enjoying a few Coronas
Enjoying a Guiness
Team drinks